Now Spinning: Death From Above 1979 “You’re A Woman, I’m A Machine”

DFA2014 has brought me good news in that Death From Above is definitely back together as they just released a new album.  I’ve had this in regular rotation for years, punk rock being a weakness of mine.

Death_From_Above_1979_by_Live_to_Die

DFA1979 was formed in Toronto by Jesse Keeler (also of MSTRKRFT) and Sebastien Grainger.   The album above was released in 2004 (pictured is the Ache Records original)and billed as “dance punk,” which is a ridiculously stupid name for a genre and one which I refuse to use any further. That said, the danceable qualities to this punk record are totally clear as soon as you hear Black History Month or Sexy Results.  I’m heading out to grab the new album, The Physical World, in a minute.  In the meantime, check out Romantic Rights here:

They’re live shows are pretty fucking crazy, too!

Standard

Leave a comment